Message sent from:

Safeguarding Notice

Newhey Community Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people, and expects the whole school community to share this commitment. For more information please click here to read our Safeguarding Policy.

You must accept our Safeguarding Policy to continue to browse our website.



The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of the reception school year. In our school, the EYFS curriculum begins in Nursery and follows into our Reception year. At Newhey Commmunity Primary School we follow the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage and support children through the Development Matters statements.

At our school we believe the Foundation Stage Curriculum is paramount to building those early foundations for learning and each child's learning journey begins from the very first day they start at our school.

We aim to provide a rich and stimulating environment for our children to learn in and we do this through carefully planned focus activities that are completed both independently and supported by adults. We have high expectations of the children and we value them as individuals, ensuring that they all achieve to their fullest potential.


The teaching within our Foundation Stage follows the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (2021) taking into consideration the four themes and their seven guiding principles:

  • The Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environment
  • Learning and Development

The EYFS curriculum focuses on seven areas of learning consisting of three prime areas and four specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas are:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Art and Design

Through these seven areas of learning, we aim to provide an appropriate and balanced curriculum that seeks to make maximum progress.


Assessment of children in the Foundation Stage is based on evidence from direct observations of children's activity.  That is looking at how well the children watch and listen to each other and adults, their ability to explore and use materials and equipment constructively and imaginatively, how they are able to represent and record their learning by drawing and writing and listening and talking to children at work. 

In order to build up a full picture of attainment, on entry assessments are carried out and as each child progresses through the Foundation Stage, their level of development is assessed against Development Matters and the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

We use an app called Evidence me in our foundation stage to observe and record assessments of children and this compiles into their own personal learning journey throughout the Foundation Stage. Parents have regular updates through the app and are able to submit their own observations of their children. This helps to secure our partnership with parents and is an invaluble tool in building up a picture of the whole child. 

Children are assessed against the three areas of effective teaching and learning which highlight the way in which the chidlren learn from their environment, experiences and activities:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically


Below are the links to:

Development Matters which provides the EYFS curriculum from birth up to the Early Learning Goals. 

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Early Years Policy


Please see our Nursery class page under our classes tab for information about what exciting learning goes on in our Nursery.





Please see our Reception class page under our classes tab for information about the exciting learning opportunities in our Reception classes.




Hit enter to search